If you are like most people, whether it is around the New Year, your birthday, or just because, you wish to change your eating habits and try on a new diet. Just as there are many reasons to want to diet, such as losing weight or being healthier, there are a couple of good reasons to look into different styles of dieting just because.

Some individuals have sensitivity to gluten and casein, for example, while others choose to go gluten free because they insist it makes them feel better. Therefore, here are a few tips for going gluten free and casein free.

Medical Necessity

First and foremost, of course, if you have an intolerance to casein or gluten, your primary care physician will be the best person to assist and direct you. Of course, once you have discussed your concerns with your primary care physician, he or she may direct you to a nutritionist. You may even opt to seek the counsel of a holistic practitioner or an integrative nutritionist, as well.

However, all of this is contingent upon what your primary care doctor guides. Some individuals may have gluten or casein intolerance while others may be considered as sensitive to them.

Either way, it is important to be properly informed by a professional.

Gluten Free Tips

If you have chosen a gluten free diet for yourself for whatever reason, here are a few tips:

Gluten is in many things – Gluten is not just bread and bread byproducts. You will have to read lots and lots of labels to find out if there is gluten in something. Sometimes even vitamins or flavored sauces may have gluten.

Eating out may be a challenge – Eating out may be a challenge for you as there are many sauces and toppings that could potentially contain gluten.

You may need more fiber – You may need to seek healthy fiber in other areas to make up for the lack of fiber barley and wheat offer you.

Casein Free Tips

Make sure that you get adequate calcium and vitamins from other sources if you are cutting out cheese and dairy. A nutritionist or physician will best be able to guide you on this spectrum of the diet.

Some dairy free foods do contain casein. You must read labels to be sure. Find good sources of alternative products that are not likely to contain casein such as soy, rice, or coconut milk. Most kosher foods are casein free, but again label checking is imperative.

So, as you can see, going gluten and casein free is possible, but you have a few things to take into consideration before you begin.

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.