Hayden Panettiere shines at the 2013 EMA Awards // Getty

The 2013 edition of the Environmental Media Association’s EMA Awards marked a new gala of celebration for those who are committed to taking care of and saving the planet. The Environmental Media Association rolled out the green carpet once again to honor film and television personalities, musicians and productions that promote environmental awareness.

Actor Matt Damon, who is also the co-founder of Water.org, was the double winner of the night: he was honored with the Ongoing Commitment Award for his efforts to provide access to clean water and sanitation in underdeveloped countries, while his new movie Promised Land, which he starred and co-wrote, won the Feature Film Award.

Actress Hayden Panettiere was the recipient of this year’s EMA Future Award for her work on behalf of the Whaleman Foundation and the welfare of sea creatures and the oceans. “We all live on the same planet and we all have a responsibility to protect it and inspire others to do likewise,” she said.

Other honorees that night included Bill McKibben who received the EMA Lifetime Achievement Awards, Anna Getty recipient of the EMA Green Parent Award, and the Screen Actors Guild Awards honored with the EMA Green Production Award.

TreeLiving covered the entire event and had a chance to talk with the celebrity guests to find out what causes they are involved with, how they are helping to raise awareness for the planet and what they do at home to stay green.


Check out all the interviews below!


Full list of #2013EMAS winners

Feature Film: Promised Land
Documentary Film: Gasland Part II
TV Episodic Drama: House of Cards, Chapter 9
TV Episodic Comedy: Last Man Standing, “Mother Fracker”
Reality TV: VICE Gangs & Oil
Children’s TV: Nick News with Linda Ellerbee “What’s the Deal with Fracking?”
Digital Content: Overview by Planetary Collective
Ongoing Commitment Award: Matt Damon
Futures Award: Hayden Panettiere
Lifetime Achievement Award: Bill McKibben
Green Parent Award: Anna Getty
Screen Actors Guild: Green Production Award, fifth consecutive Green Seal

About The Author

Related Posts